

RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS HELD ON 9 NOVEMBER 2011

14/11/2011

The Electoral Commission (IEC) said the African National Congress won eight of the ten municipal ward by-elections which took place on Wednesday, 9 November 2011. The remaining two seats went to the Democratic Alliance. Voter turnout varied between 18.50% and 61.01% with an average of 40.24%.

In the four by-elections which took place in the Eastern Cape, the new councillors all represent the African National Congress. They are:

- Mxolisi Mickly Matiwane in Ward 4 in Lukhanji [Queenstown] Municipality EC134;
- Simfunile Budu in Ward 10 in King Sabata Dalindyebo [Umtata] Municipality EC157;
- Fikile James Hem in Ward 1 in Umzimvubu [Mount Ayliff] Municipality EC442; and
- Fanelekile Patrick Mjoli in Ward 9 in Mbizana [Bizana] Municipality EC443.

One by-election each took place in the Free State and Gauteng. Mbuti Jacob Ngexe of the African National Congress is the new councillor in Ward 6 in Tswelopele [Hoopstad] Municipality – FS138, Free State while Nicolaas Wollaston Labuschagne will represent the Democratic Alliance in Ward 88 in Ekurhuleni [East Rand] Municipality – EKU, Gauteng.

In KwaZulu-Natal, Themba Christopher Dubazane representing the African National Congress is the new councillor in Ward 7 in Umtshezi [Estcourt] Municipality. This ward was previously represented by the Inkatha Freedom Party.

In the two by-elections taking place in Limpopo and Mpumalanga, the new councillors both represent the African National Congress. They are Tsietsi Samuel Manyama in Ward 1 in Greater Tzaneen [Tzaneen] Municipality – LIM333 and Klaas Oupa Mtsweni in Ward 6 in Dr JS Moroka [Mdutjana] Municipality – MP316, respectively.

In the Western Cape, Jimmy Barnard is the new councillor in Ward 4 in Cederberg [Citrusdal] Municipality – WC012.

The detailed results for each ward are available on the IEC website on www.elections.org.za.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion
10 November 2011

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386

For media interviews: Please email requests to spokesperson@elections.org.za